Panes of yesterday…

A chill ran down my spine, my heart giving a painful squeeze as I looked up at my window and saw her. It stirred all the old memories… fearful, dank and dark.. the sight through the window-pane… of that straight back, the white robes and the black wimple… feelings of feeling small and insignificant, while I stared up at the stern countenance, always but always reprimanding me… for being myself… sometimes for laughing too loud… sometimes for shouting in the long and silent corridors that seemed to stretch forever… so far that I wanted to shout to see whether my voice would return to me…

What were you doing here, now, in my home after so many years? Why, when I had successfully put you away in a remote corner of my soul (or at least so I thought). I hurry in, anxious whether your icy stare would now be turned onto my young son… all my protective instincts coming to the fore.

I turn into the room… and stand there shocked … to find a tableau that will be forever etched in my mind… my young son, holding aloft his prized possession… a frog found in the garden… now housed in a generous bottle… and you, a wide, encouraging smile… admiring his closer-than-heart-buddy dutifully…

Which one then is true? My larger-than-life memories? Or the larger-than-life smiles on your faces as you both turned to look at me?

For Magpie Tales prompt #31

18 thoughts on “Panes of yesterday…

  1. Both are true, Maya. I have those memories too.Plus my kids remember a different mother than is grandma to their children………we grow closer to the hearts of children as we age. Stern old nuns scared me right away from organized religion. I had to find a broader, more encompassing spirituality after twelve years of fear and trembling:)Good post, and thought-provoking question at the end.

  2. I really liked this Maya. I especially liked the lines…."sometimes for shouting in the long and silent corridors that seemed to stretch forever… so far that I wanted to shout to see whether my voice would return to me…"Nice writing! 🙂

  3. great job, maya. My magpie, yet to come, will most likely be about those scary nuns. But after reading this, maybe they weren't so scary after all. Perception is a tricky thing, isn't it? BTW, I tagged you in a short meme, which you can find HERE Feel free to do if you like, if not, no worries! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

