sleeping beauty


art by Henry Moore


something prodded me
(perhaps it was Samuel)
insistent, disturbing me
from a dreamless sleep
as I slept with my brethren
in a deep, deep, silent sleep 

i sing songs now to keep
me feeling entertained
my soft voice doesn’t move
the air above the breaths
of my sleeping brethren
in a deep, deep, silent, sleep

i play the drums to fill
the silence and loneliness
but the beat is dim
it doesn’t echo in the ears
of my sleeping brethren
in a deep, deep, sleep

i jump, i shout,

and eve blow the bugle
to waken some for company
but my antics are to no avail
on my sleeping brethren
in a deep, deep, silent, sleep. 

i wish to sleep now too

and sink myself
in the seductive comfort
of the dreamless state
of my sleeping brethren
in a deep, deep, silent, sleep.
then i see there is much around
the rising sun, the softest breeze
my beating heart then decides
to live itself out while waiting
for my sleeping brethren to wake
from their deep and silent, sleep.
5 thoughts on “sleeping beauty

  1. Good poem, above……..it could be a metaphor for those who are awakened living in the midst of the general population who are still unaware….or is that what you intended in the first place?I keep meaning to tell you how much I love the quote by your profile: "whoever brought me here will have to take me home." I love Rumi so much!

Leave a Reply

