When rivers die …

“I am willing to receive you, if you are willing to give yourself to me”, said the Ocean to the River. “I wait here with open arms… for that is my destiny”.

“I am willing to give myself to you, if you are willing to receive me”, said the River to the Ocean. “I flow, from the moment I am born, towards you. It is my destiny”.

And yet humankind has come in between the destinies of these mighty entities. We build dams, embankments… in our attempt to contain and own the power of the River, making her serve to another purpose than her destiny. What happens then? When we kill the rivers on their way? When Oceans lie in wait forever?

______________________________________

One thought on “When rivers die …

Leave a Reply

