Michhami Dukkadam – The Power of Forgiveness

Today I was humbled.

I was humbled by a totally unexpected email from a totally unexpected person. The unexpectedness of the email was not only the person from whom it came, but more importantly the content of the mail.

It read :

Dear Radha

Micchami Dukkadam

Khamemi Savve Jiva
Savve Jiva Khamantume
Mittime Savva Bhuyeshu
Veram Majjam na Kenhi

On this pious Samwatsari Day of Paryusana
I seek your forgivance
from the depth of my being
for any harm or hurt I may have caused you

Mansa ( through mind)
Vacha (through words)
Karmana (through action)

Knowingly or unknowingly
Consciously or unconsciously
Intentionally or unintentionally

XXX

The power of this mail was quite shattering. I felt humbled and all the irritation and ire that I had for this person left me in an instant. The feeling snowballed into feeling a forgiveness for all those people whom I might have quarreled with. It further snowballed into my sending this mail and ask forgiveness from all those people whom I might have offended or hurt.

It was a very liberating feeling.

Micchami Dukkadam is a Jain ritual practised on Samvatsari – the last day of Paryushan. It is a day to ask for forgiveness and to forgive all in the Universe.

There might be something to these rituals after all.

One thought on “Michhami Dukkadam – The Power of Forgiveness

  1. I wonder if you have read this beautiful book that I am reading: You can Heal your Life by Louis L. Hay. You won't regret buying this book. Do read it.Thanks Suresh

Leave a Reply

