Since Life’s too short and Death too cold

Since Life’s too short and Death too cold
I refuse to wait and grow slowly old
So old that I think Life’s unfair
And find it silly to build dreams in the air
So old that I’d need a reason to smile
And plod thru life mile by painful mile
So old that I gaze into the distance far
And become company to that lonely star
So old that the light fades in my eyes
My enthusiasm dampens and slowly dies
So old that I become a spectator in the stands
And fear to play for my shaking hands
Intolerant and impatient in the crankiness of age
Since one is sure to reach this inevitable stage
And ‘cos Life too short and Death too cold
I refuse to wait and grow slowly old.

4 thoughts on “Since Life’s too short and Death too cold

  1. Lovely…beautiful composition..Age is also a state of mind that can observe the physical decay with that unconcerned resignation which could also bring moments of joy and bliss,however fleetingly.

  2. p.s. Being rather old myself and blind as a bat, yesterday morning while it was still dark, while walking my dog, I actually fell in the ditch and had trouble finding my way out – I found it so hilarious that I cackled all the way home and cracked up all day every time I thought about it – so you see, adventures still await, when one is old , hee hee!The challenges are just different:)

Leave a Reply

