Clueless on Pedestal

Don’t put me on the pedestal
I am clueless there
It will only elevate me
And do nothing more
Elevate me so people can throw stones
Or have the pigeons do their job.
I would rather just be me, Free.

Don’t put me on a pedestal
For I would like to live
The pedestal requires me to die
The pedestal is a very small place
It will bind me, freeze me
When I would rather wander

the world over
I would rather be a Fakir
A traveller, a storyteller
A beggar
Who sits at the foot of the pedestal
Watching the world go by
On her terms …
So, don’t put me on the pedestal
Or I will only fall
And maybe crush you in the bargain.

Radha… clueless as ever
16th July, 2008

Leave a Reply

