Submission

Lord, I know not what I ought to ask of thee
Thou only knowest what I need
Thou lovest me better than I know how to love myself
O Father, give to Thy child that which he himself knows not how to ask
I dare not ask either for crosses or for consolations
I simply present myself before thee
I open my heart to Thee
Behold my needs which I know not myself
see and do according to Thy tender mercy
Smite, or heal
depress me or raise me up
I adore all Thy purposes without knowing them
I am silent
I offer myself in sacrifice
I yield myself to Thee
I would have no other desire than to accomplish Thy will
Teach me to pray
Pray Thyself in me
AMEN.

— Francois de Salignac Fenelon Archbishop of Cambray, 1651−1715,
http://www.maps.org/books/scr/noframes.html

Leave a Reply

